Vegan BROWNIES!

Recently, I have been playing around with Melisser Elliott’s Buccaneer Brownie recipe via Go Max Go Foods. She has been creating dessert recipes to use with their product, via the Go Max Go blog. Now, I have a few of their candy bars stashed away, but I want to eat them by themselves since I don’t get them very often!

Just wanted to pay a visit to my vegan baking blog and let you know about the THE BEST brownie recipe I have ever used. If you don’t have Go Max Go candy bars, you can used chocolate chips or crushed up Newman’s Own sandwich cookies (in mint!). I’ve done both and I’ve been quite pleased with the results.

ImageThis picture does not do my brownies justice! Here’s the thing: I do prefer to under-bake my goodies, as I do not like the toughness of over-baked desserts. And I did over-bake my first batch of these bad boys! I will say that they are quite fudgy, and I think the canned coconut milk I used was too heavy for them. 

I did play with the recipe a little bit. I used the equivalent of one egg using EnerG Egg Replacer instead of flax. I also used unsweetened soy milk instead of water in my first batch, and canned coconut milk in my second batch, pictured above. I loved the ooey-gooeyness of the second batch, but I think the canned coconut milk may have been a little heavy. Next time I’m going to stick with unsweetened soy milk or use coconut yogurt!

Leave a Reply

