Vegan Metal Brunch!

My buddy Sean invited me to a vegan, heavy metal, potluck brunch on Sunday, and since my best friend Caroline is going to be back in town, the gang is reuniting! Caroline and I had plans to go to Donut Farm, but we’re going go check out this metal brunch thing instead. I’m into indie pop myself, but I like meeting new people and experiencing different things (so that I never have to do them again. I kid, I halfway kid).

Since every single time I go to Donut Farm I order the biscuits and gravy with a side of southern greens, I will be bringing a homemade version to the potluck! I’ll be sautéing a variety of greens (a southern-style mix, spinach and Kale, all from TJ’s) with some liquid smoke, and preparing my gluten-free biscuits and gravy!*

Image

I’ve been dying to try the Trader Joe’s gluten-free baking mix, so I picked some up today. During a TJ’s shopping trip awhile ago, I read the label, to see what flour mixture they use, and I my first thought was, “Oh man, this needs to be cut with some garfava flour”. I don’t know why, I can’t explain the science, but that was my baker’s instinct. I’m not sure if I’m going to play around with it for my biscuits and gravy, but I was thinking that I wanted to make a gluten-free coffee cake for the brunch as well. I can be a little of an over-achiever sometimes, or always, when it comes to showing off food. Of course, I always end up underwhelmed by what I make, but we are our harshest critics, right?

If all goes well, I will definitely post all about it! If not, I’ll pretend it never happened.

*The brunch is not a gluten-free event, but I like to bring these kinds of items because that allergy/sensitivity runs so rampant. Plus, I fancy myself a pretty great vegan and gluten-free baker, so it’s just another chance to show off! “THIS IS GLUTEN-FREE?? YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME”, is what I go for.

Leave a Reply

